The Merchant of Venice – Globe Theatre London

Dominic Mafham as Antonio © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Dominic Mafham as Antonio © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Phoebe Pryce as Jessica © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Phoebe Pryce as Jessica © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Ben Lamb as Lorenzo © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Ben Lamb as Lorenzo © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Scott Karim as Prince of Morocco © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Scott Karim as Prince of Morocco © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock and Phoebe Pryce as Jessica © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock and Phoebe Pryce as Jessica © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Christopher Logan as Prince of Arragon © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Christopher Logan as Prince of Arragon © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Ben Lamb as Lorenzo and Phoebe Pryce as Jessica © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Ben Lamb as Lorenzo and Phoebe Pryce as Jessica © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Globe Theatre - The Merchant of Venice © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Globe Theatre – The Merchant of Venice directed by Jonathan Munby © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Rachel Pickup as Portia and Daniel Laplain as Basanio © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Rachel Pickup as Portia and Daniel Lapaine as Bassanio © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Rachel Pickup as Portia © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Rachel Pickup as Portia © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock and Dominic Mafham as Antonio © Manuel Harlan - Shakeaspeare's Globe FB page
Jonathan Pryce as Shylock and Dominic Mafham as Antonio © Manuel Harlan – Shakeaspeare’s Globe FB page

 

7 thoughts on “The Merchant of Venice – Globe Theatre London

  1. Thanks so much for these. I keep thinking how much I love to see Shakespeare in period dress, something that only the Globe seems to attempt these days. So many of the plays call for the men to wear swords (e.g. the final scene in Hamlet), and it’s rather awkward if they’re dressed in business suits…
    Dominic Mafham has pride of place with the first photo and deservedly so–he’s gorgeous!

    1. Indeed Linnet. I still cannot believe that I will be there myself next Saturday watching it. I’m sure it will be an experience I will remember my whole life; those costumes, their fabrics, the details (the laces, the purses, the swords), in the Globe Theatre.

      I thank the Globe for allowing me to know the work of Mr. Mafham. I did not remember his small part in The English Patient (curiosly with Mr. Fiennes, that I will see also next Sunday); as we have commented in other posts, he’s surely more gorgeous now with his 47 years (wrinkles and white hairs included) than in 1996 when he was 28. He’s the second actor capable of reading a whole audiobook without making me yawn even once. 🙂 I love these pics of the reharsals


      1. Fabulous pics indeed! And to think he was in “The English Patient”! I agree, he surely looks better now.
        I just found out that your Roger Allam had a small role in GoT Season One. Now I am tempted to go back and look again, just for him 🙂 GoT even has Jonathan Pryce! I am waiting for Mark Rylance to show up.

      2. Omg, did he? I “know” him thanks to Parade’s End, I will have to chek out my DVDs of the first season. I have just seen the first chapter of the fifth season, good to know that Mr Pryce will be there? Is also Mark Rylance there? Well, indeed they’ve called not only Ducasse to cook an omelette, but also Arzak and Gualtiero Marchesi. 🙂

      3. It’s been suggested that they give Rylance a role on GoT, but so far as I know he’s not on the show YET. That might make up a little for the absence of Mance Rayder 🙂
        I always learn something from you. I did not know about Arzak or the maestro Marchesi. Definitely some new frontiers in egg cookery 🙂

      4. Oh, thanks for telling me this, yesterday I caught the last 10 minutes of chapter 2 of season 5 and I was searching for Mr. Rylance all over. BTW, if you want to see Mr. Rylance as an actor of the original Globe, watch “Anonymous”, if you can. Rhys Ifans is amazing as the earl of Oxford (no wonder why after watching that film one sympathises with the oxfordians).
        Oh, thank you, linnet. My knowledge about chefs come all from hubby. BTW, Hugh Jackman went to Arzak’s in San Sebastian and he felt the need to tweet suddenly afterwards that it was the best meal he ever had. 😉

      5. Oooh, good recommendation. I’m going to see if they have “Anonymous” on Netflix.
        I love the idea of Arzak feeding Hugh Jackman. Deliciousness all around 🙂

Leave a Reply

