I’m a time traveller

My edit of 1981 BBC TV series
My edit of the opening title of 1981 BBC TV series

Last weekend my body was in 2015 but my mind was mostly in 1520. What I enjoy the most in my clumsy writing attempts is the time travel for free. I’ve written the epilogue of the famous writing project that probably will never be, but that I think of quite often. I have two “history crushes” and both of them started with a BBC series. My fondness of the Roman Empire started with “I, Claudius” and “The Borgias” ignited my passion for the Borgia family.

afraid

popeyet

stpeter
Adolfo Celli played Pope Alexander, and Oliver Cotton Cesare Borgia. Best Roderigo and Cesare Borgia on screen EVER!

Many years have passed since late ’80s; I have read many books about the Borgias, visited exhibitions, places where they actually lived, seen objects that they have touched, letters that they have written. Regarding the books, I recommend you three: one is an historical essay “Lucrezia Borgia” by Maria Bellonci (it’s not an historical fiction but can be read as easily as if it was one), and two novels. O Cesar o nada, by Manuel Vázquez Montalbán, and Blood & Beauty by Sarah Dunnant. The last was a real surprise; after several big disappointments (if I’m in a library and come by a novel with some Borgia in it I buy it) this has been a big discovery. I have finally found my Cesare, the one I’ve always had in mind who says this to Caterina Sforza after taking the city of Forlì:

CF67Zv3UoAA7RKS

To come back to my time travel, after learning of the existence of Tiziano’s Pala Pesaro, the striking similitude between the unknown soldier carrying the Borgia banner and Richard Armitage, a story is taking form in my head. As I’m inconstant and unreliable I have not started to write it seriously. I have ideas about the outline, and how will his story mix with Lucrezia and Cesare’s; I have thought also about the research I’ll have to do, and so on. Anyway, in the meantime, I’ve written the epilogue. I have done it also as a warm-up. If I don’t write in Spanish for a while I need some practising; luckily I have some patient friends that will correct my grammar and other mistakes, as I don’t have any Spanish dictionary in my word processing programs.

palaPesaroMistery
This thing drives me crazy and makes me wonder about re-incarnation.

 Therefore, last weekend I’ve written my four thousand words exercise; in it there’s an special guest, Cesare Borgia’s sword and its scabbard. I’ve seen both of them in two different exhibitions. The sword is kept here in Rome, and I saw it in an exhibition about Julius Caesar, and the scabbard, which is usually in Victoria & Albert Museum, was in loan in another exhibition about the Borgia family. I checked the catalogue of the scabbard but I did not looked for info in the catalogue of the sword, as I remembered its shape quite well.

IMG_4048

IMG_4046

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my epilogue, in 1520, he himself (the name of his character is John, couldn’t be otherwise) has the sword, as Cesare gave it to him before his death in Viana (Spain). I didn’t recall if Cesare had taken the sword with him to Spain or where it was kept, but when reading the article about it in the second catalogue, my heart beat hard when I realised that indeed Cesare took the sword with him and that there are no records of the sword’s whereabouts until the XVIIIth century. Therefore, those two details nailed perfectly in my narration. Consider me crazy and/or lunatic, but I felt profoundly happy when I realised that. Most probably that information was stored inside my head and I used it unconsciously, but that moment I felt in heaven, or rather, confirmed me that indeed last weekend I travelled to 1520.

IMG_4047 copy
Detail of Cesare Borgia’s sword as in the catalogue “Giulio Cesare: ‘uomo, l’imprese, il mito”. The inscription reads CUM NUMINE CESARIS OMEN

PS. Richard Armitage has just wrapped “Pilgrimage” with Stanley Webber in the cast, among others. He played, in the European Borgia tv series, the part of Juan Borgia. Mr. Webber had indeed the physique du role and made a decent work. Although the art design of the series was gorgeous (and shot in Cinecittà, I’ve visited the set), the script was what it was. As far as Borgias in the screen are concerned, the most faithful version to reality, even if less glamorous, is still BBC 1981 series.

Stanley Weber as Juan Borgia. Click for source

5 thoughts on “I’m a time traveller

  1. Ah, “I Claudius” is one of my all time favorite shows. And the books–incredible.
    The sword is amazing, so much detail in its craftsmanship and so much ornament. And yet it looks quite deadly.
    I have looked up Sarah Dunant. Maybe I will finally read something about the Borgias!

    1. Sarah Dunnant has written several books about the Italian Renaissance. I have also liked very much “Birth of Venus”, a fictional story, it’s not based in historical characters. If you want more info about the Borgias, you just have to ask. 🙂

      1. Gorgeous artwork, but with those Borgias I feel the same you feel watching Anonymous, I don’t believe a jot. 😀 Wolf Hall is in my neverending list of things-to-watch

Leave a Reply

