Thank you Guylty!

IMG_4065
Maybe the postman rang twice, but I was not at home. Surprise, letter from Ireland! Step one: find a safe place. My tiny rapsi will always with with me in my bag, together with a very valuable London souvenir
IMG_4066
Knock, knock! Who’s there?
IMG_4067
A “little” John, “tender as dew, impetuous as rain”
IMG_4069
This is the reason why Little John must be always inside my bag, “for safety reasons”. It’s very curious the fact that when some RA memorabilia arrive home, she’s the first to check it out.
IMG_4072
But little John is brave. When there’re mountains to climb, he climbs them!

Thank you so much to Guylty!!!!! I feel a little bit guilty as my strictly related RA posts have decreased. As we say in Spain la procesión va por dentro (the procession goes within). Maybe I’m a little less talkative about, but my admiration and respect for him has not decreased at all, on the contrary, it has grown. I wish that the arrival of my tiny rapsi will be a lucky charm for Richard, Mr. Hartley and Mr. Hewson for the Audible Awards.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Thank you Guylty!

  1. Oh sweet, there he is, happy in beautiful Italy. Glad he has arrived safely. And thanks back to you for your donation. ❤
    And never mind the current lack of RA related posts. I am still reading your blog, I just don't always have anything to say 😉 The "procession within" works in all of us. And not writing about him doesn't mean he's not appreciated.

    1. Thank you again, Guylty. I appreciate it so much, and also your craftmanship and talent in preparing this tiny jewels. This will travel with me from now on, is it airport-scanner proofed? 🙂

      1. Hehe, yes, they are. Not yours specifically, but I have taken my two shrines through countless securities gates when travelling to NZ earlier this year. And I hear other people have travelled with their RAPS, too, without setting off any alarms 😉

  2. Hooray for you and Guylty! It’s a lovely little shrine 🙂 And a sweet feline too.
    BTW I watched “Anonymous”! Thanks for that recommendation. I enjoyed it thoroughly though I did not believe it for a minute 🙂 I was stunned by how good Rhys Ifans looked. Altogether an amazing cast!

    1. Little Beta is always curious and shows a certain tendency to snif and lick Mr. A, who knows why 🙂

      Oh, I’m glad you enjoyed it! What part you did not believe, the authorship one or the one about Elizabeth and her sons/lovers? 🙂 Rhys Ifans is amazing in that film. When I googled his name after watching the film I could not believe he was the same person! Cast is really incredible, all are amazing. The two Cecils, father (David Thewlis) and son (Edward Hogg), astounding. The only one I did not like was the “young” Oxford, I found him irritating and overacting, in my humble opinion.

      Sam Reid, who played the Earl of Essex, was still a Lamda student when he was hired for the job, and his very first scene was with Vanessa Redgrave. I can imagine how thrilled he was.

      1. Little Beta. So sweet.
        I guess I am staunch supporter of Shakespeare himself since I love the idea that even though he was not highly educated, he was simply a genius. There have been other such men and women who rose above their circumstances. The Oxfordian position always seems to me to suggest a prejudice, the idea that only a nobleman could have produced those plays. The democrat in me rejects such an idea! That Shakespeare was practically illiterate and could barely write his name–I don’t believe that for a second, as it would have been known. I don’t think the Earl of Oxford knew anything about stagecraft or how to write for the stage, but an actor surely would. Many of the plays are very “commercial” and crowd-pleasing, catering to the tastes of the time with all that spurting blood. I notice they didn’t show the Earl writing Titus Andronicus!!
        Besides, I thought that it was established that S. used the North translation of Plutarch as a source. Surely the Earl would have read Plutarch in the original, something that could be detected in his diction. But I don’t know all the scholarly details on that.
        As for Elizabeth having all those illegitimate children, I think it’s absurd. That would have been known—she could not have kept such a secret. Maybe one (doubtful) but certainly not a whole brood!
        I probably need to blog about this, but it would require a lot more research 🙂

      2. Thank you for your comment!

        Oh, I see, and I understand. Well, Marlowe was the son of a shoe- maker, Jonson the step-son of a bricklayer, Cervantes the son of a poor gentleman, Those three examples show clearly that writing masterpieces had little to do with nobility. I have not a clear idea about the authorship issue, I see it in a kind of detached way. The words and the plays are what matter, I care little who wrote them. There’re many theories, one as absurd as to maintain that Cervantes was Shakespeare! 😀 In an interview Rylance talk about the “different versions of a beautiful story” and I read another person (forgot who) that hearing Rylance talking about the authorship debate was like “revealing Jesus” 🙂
        I think that Shakespeare being a genius “frightens” more than the author of those incredible plays being the Oxford or Kit Marlowe.

      3. That was the other thing that bothered me, the way they made it look like Ben Jonson was a mediocre writer. The Earl even says “I chose you because you have no voice.” But it’s so unfair, like saying Patroklos is a mediocre fighter because he is not Achilles.
        When Rylance opens his mouth, I melt. But even he couldn’t convince me 🙂 Still, you are right that it doesn’t matter who wrote them. Even if it was an Earl, they are still miraculous.

Leave a Reply

