Mumble, mumble…

RA at work. Image from Section of Randomness, click for link

Perhaps someone wonders why I have not written anything yet about Mr. Francis Dolarhyde. Frankly speaking, I have nothing to say about him. Well, that’s not absolutely true: Richard Armitage makes an amazing work, his commitment to the role is evident in every single frame, from the movements in his body to the swallowing up of a Blake’s drawing. The problem is that I don’t connect with the story; I have not seen the series from the beginning because it’s not my cup of tea. It’s very well done, there’re many and admired actors working in it, but it’s not my genre.

In the meantime I’ve read the book to understand better Dolarhyde. I bow once more to RA craftsmanship, he’s nailed it. But I don’t get touched by the story, I’m sure that, wouldn’t it be for the series I’ll forget the book in about a week (I definitely prefer Mr. Harris when writing Roman novels as Pompeii or Imperium). When I watch each episode I don’t scream, I don’t jump on my chair and it doesn’t ignite in me the usual FRRA (fan related recreational activities) such as editing, fanvids, etc. etc.

Is it something bad? Not at all. Richard Armitage is always, in my opinion, the best actor of his generation, has made an amazing work and I sincerely hope he will be granted some award for his Francis Dolarhyde. But, to come back to “my romans”

De gustibus non disputandum est

7 thoughts on “Mumble, mumble…

  1. So true. There is still one CH movie I haven’t watched because I just can’t stomach the violence. As for RA, I have been enjoying the show vicariously without having to watch the gory parts. What I notice is the emphasis on his body–the great physicality of this role. And he obviously worked out a lot to prepare for it.

    1. In this case it is not for the violence; at least, the Hannibal chapters I’ve seen are definitely less gory than “The Knick” (I love that series), for instance. I don’t connect with the writing of the show; I feel the same watching the second season of True Detective, I find the writing a little bit pretentious. All those long speeches of Gillian Anderson-Debelia, for instance. I don’t get the point. Something quite difficult if you start watching at mid of season three, I guess.
      The physicality of Dolarhyde is one of the characteristics of the character created by Harris. He defines him “a culturist”; I have appreciated the fact that they have not dyed Mr. Armitage’s hair, as Francis Dolarhyde is blond in the novel. 🙂

      1. Interesting! I watch very little TV so I can’t compare these reference points. But good writing is more important than just about anything else. Which is more watchable, I wonder, mediocre writing with great actors, or mediocre actors with great writing?

      2. The first, in my opinion. I still have in mind the absolute horror of an Italian company torturing Shakespeare’s King Lear. Great actors are capable of showing us their inmense talent even with a poor script, poor actors are able to make look the bard like a soap opera writer.

      3. Ah, I see what you mean. With Shakespeare it’s very apparent because it collapses if the actors don’t have the technical skills to deliver the lines properly. But I keep thinking of Jack Lemmon in the Branagh Hamlet… he’s a great actor with contemporary scripts, but with Shakepeare he was completely flat.

  2. Really no harm done 🙂 i don’t think we have to like everything he’s done, i certainly don’t and not all projects excite me. Don’t worry about it too much 😉
    Hopefully we’ll get the extended Hobbit soon and more of the other stuff and there will be plenty more to enjoy 🙂 There are bound to be things that we don’t all like since he is making an effort to vary and it is almost impossible to enjoy everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

